Hello from Welshwaller

Beddau Derwyddon near Carreg Cennen. Limestone

a village hall poster in west Wales

Just a lil'ol southern gal and an old Welsh dude

What she doesn't know of food and music ain't worth the time learning !

I have recently had the immense pleasure of hosting a ‘foreigner’ in my home, an American citizen, a folklorist, an amazing cook, a knowledge base of blues music unrivalled and an all round ‘bad ass’ redneck girl. But best of all she introduced me to the world of ‘blog’. Her four months in Wales were recorded with insight, wit, intellect and charm which, together with her photographic record, represents a flattering (and very accurate) vision of Wales and those of us lucky enough to spend time with her. As a result I have decided to dip my own toe into the world of the blogger. Here goes.

So what do I have to say ? Well, basically I’m going to tell you of my amazing life spent in the hills of Wales repairing (which means rebuilding) the dry stone walls that separate and create fields, mark the boundary of the in-bye land and mark out the farmsteads.

In addition I have a fascination with farm history and have studied landscapes which stretch back three thousand years. Mostly I observe nature and my surroundings, which sometimes means wildlife, human life, farm life or just life. Somewhere, in amongst all that, there are some interesting things to tell.

Behind the scenes I am the curator of a farm museum which preserves for posterity the tools, equipment and practices of upland farming in Wales in the early to mid C20th.
I am a ‘collector’ of all kinds of ‘old’ artefacts from tractors, carts, land-rovers, bicycles, garden machinery, in fact mostly anything rusty indeed I have a ‘Lust for Rust’.
So, not so much an intellectual or self analysing sort of blog, just a diary, just a story, just my life in words.

I’m going to begin at the near end, I’m going to begin with four weeks in the summer of 2009, Wales in Washington.

Leave a Reply

